At Smalling Masonry, we want to get to know you and your space. We want to understand your goals and then help you identify your best options. We truly want you to be happy—not only with the end product, but also with the level of customer service you have received.

J and Steve Goulden Avatar

Excellent all around! Communication was top notch and the job was completed as promised. Caleb and his team did an excellent job. Would happily recommend Smalling Masonry to anyone requiring masonry or chimney work👍👍

J and Steve Goulden 11/13/2021
swordbearer Avatar

We had a chimney liner put in and they did an awesome job, on time and very respectful! Initially we had Mr. Smalling come out to look things over and he gave us a fair estimate and recommendations for repairs in order of importance. Caleb, Thomas Banks, and James Y.,
did the chimney liner today, all were very friendly and took time to explain what was needed and what they did. Excellent! We highly recommend!

swordbearer 11/12/2021
patricia caragher Avatar

Caleb and Jaylon did an excellent job on my mother’s house. They were very courteous and efficient. They cleaned up after doing the work and explained everything that was done and documented all work with pictures. I highly recommend them

patricia caragher 11/10/2021
Wade Kammel Avatar

Working with Smalling Masonry was great. Honest professionals who helped us make the best decision for our home. Thanks

Wade Kammel 10/28/2021
Josh Brewster Avatar

Great experience! Storm, Caleb, and Zach did a great job and got things done quickly. I would definitely use them again.

Josh Brewster 10/18/2021
Rocky Lee Avatar

Gary came this morning to do our fireplace chimney inspection and to check out another brick chimney that was starting to crumble.
He did a very good job and was very professional and courteous. He explained what he was going to do and answered all my questions. After all was done I feel like we received A+ service.
I also just want to say that I really appreciate Gary‘s honesty and his taking the time to share his knowledge and advice with me!
I will wait for the estimate on the crumbling chimney but feel like I already know that Smalling Masonry will be doing the work.

Rocky Lee 10/08/2021
Lucinda Wolverton Avatar

They did a thorough inspection of my fireplace and sent me the report via email. They are being careful with Covid. Inspector wore a mask and kept me informed of his findings.

Lucinda Wolverton 9/15/2021
James Daly Avatar

Smalling did excellent work on our home with extensive brick replacement and repair, as well as chimney sealing and repair. Bidding and scheduling through Roger was easy and very prompt, and the crews showed up right on schedule. Storm did a great job managing the two crews, communicating with us, and even completing some of the work directly, all with a great attitude and pleasant demeanor. The extensive work was completed in less than a day!

James Daly 8/03/2021
Sarah Gronowski Avatar

Smalling was a wonderful company to work with. Caleb and Zach were friendly and performed a great job. We love our new fireplace! Would definitley recommend Smalling Masonry.

Sarah Gronowski 8/02/2021
Daniel Smith Avatar

After several reschedules because of windy conditions the stainless steel chimney chase cap has been installed. The Smalling workers were very willing to meet my requests for adjustments to the flue components.
Thank you for a job well done!

Daniel Smith 7/20/2021
Jennifer Swan Avatar

Gary was kind, knowledgable and patient with us as we asked many questions! He did a thorough job inspecting our chimney and laid out all our options for us. We will definitely use them again, and will recommend them without hesitation.

Update: Caleb and Mike came out and did the necessary repairs. They were punctual, friendly, knowledgable, and good communicators regarding the whole process. We have recommended the company to others and will continue to do so! Thanks so much for your great work!

Jennifer Swan 6/11/2021
George Greeson Avatar

Caleb and Jaylan . Thank you for a Job well done. You are a credit to your company with your skill , promptness . knowledge, and work ethic Thanks for keeping me informed during the project. That wall you created, makes the area look so much better. This is the second time I have had a project completed by Smalling Masonry . Excellent results both times. Smalling Masonry does not disappoint.

George Greeson 5/28/2021
Diane Evans Avatar

Roger was just here to inspect our situation in order to give us an estimate for work needed to alleviate a leak around our chimney. We haven’t even received the estimate but I was so impressed with Roger’s knowledge and willingness that I felt motivated to write this positive review. I feel 100% confident about the integrity of this company. I am guessing their workmanship would match. Call these people!

Diane Evans 5/27/2021
Kelly Lavengood Avatar

As a residential Realtor I work with many different contractors. Gary and the crew at Smalling Masonry are one of my favorite contractors to work with. They are always punctual, professional, knowledgeable, and easy to work with. I frequently refer Smalling Masonry for fireplace and chimney inspections, fireplace and chimney repairs, and all kinds of masonry work. They have done work on my personal home, along with incredible masonry repairs/rebuilding on a commercial property I own.

Kelly Lavengood 5/26/2021
Lindsay Gayle Avatar

We recently had our fireplace checked for the annual inspection. Smalling noticed some needs remaining from their work a few months back and informed us and returned a couple weeks later to rectify it free of charge. Great customer service!

Lindsay Gayle 5/18/2021
Florence Brunel Avatar

Roger came and serviced our fireplace. He was very professional and friendly.

Florence Brunel 5/11/2021
Robert Grogan Avatar

We received professional and knowledgeable service and advice to correct out flue issues. Now we are on annual maintenance to assure we are safe when we burn our wood stove.

Robert Grogan 5/11/2021
Eva Griffey Avatar

Right on time and wore protective foot covers to keep floors clean. Very nice guys

Eva Griffey 5/01/2021
David Yount Avatar

Gary and Jenny at Smalling Masonry were both outstanding to deal with. I thought we had a problem with a chimney cap that needed to be replaced. After scheduling a time to come out (right on time and with notice), Gary inspected our chimney and told me all was well given my unique fireplace damper. He refused my offer to bill me for his time. This family owned business has done work for others in our neighborhood who are extremely satisfied with their work quality. If we ever need masonry work of any kind, Smalling will get our business.

David Yount 5/01/2021
David Reid Avatar

The service was top rate. Very Professional, considerate, and efficient. I recommend them very highly!

David Reid 5/01/2021
Mic Lajiness Avatar

Very professional, competent workers. Created minimal mess. Very happy.

Mic Lajiness 5/01/2021
Caleb Hoag Avatar

Gary just left my house. I had him come out to take a look at a few different areas of vertical cracks. He was very informative and told me that I was able to fix it myself AND gave us a little bit the supplies to do it. For FREE! These guys will be my go to for any future major masonary work. Thanks and I will send you all the business I can!

Caleb Hoag 5/01/2021
Nathan Noll Avatar

Quick, knowledgeable work

Nathan Noll 5/01/2021
Larissa Wolf Avatar

We are thrilled with our new chimney! The team was professional, neat and explained everything they were doing. I highly recommend!

Larissa Wolf 5/01/2021
Kathy Wolfe Avatar

Gary from Smalling did an incredibly excellent, thorough inspection! He walked me through every step, using a camera in the chimney to show me exactly what he meant. Definitely would recommend Smalling and would use them again!

Kathy Wolfe 4/01/2021
MEREDITH ESTRADA Avatar

Very professional, knowledgeable and friendly people!!! Thank you so much for your expertise!. We will be calling you again for services in the future! Highly recommend. Five Stars!!!!!

MEREDITH ESTRADA 3/01/2021
Dorothy Vick Avatar

We appreciate Gary’s expertise, honesty and patience answering all our questions. We highly recommend Smalling Masonry!

Dorothy Vick 3/01/2021
Peter West Avatar

Great service! Had the rep come out to do a Chimney Inspection on a new house. He was very open, transparent and provided a clear explanation of the issues. Timely and reliable.

Peter West 2/01/2021
Erling Roberts Avatar

The technicians that showed up were professional and friendly. They got straight to the work and provided an assessment with professional equipment that ‘wanted what I want’. They explained each point made and offered options to me so I could decide what is right for my family. This positive experience contrasts with a sharp negative experience from another vendor, highlighting how much better Smalling is.

Erling Roberts 2/01/2021
Sandra Smith Avatar

Very knowledgeable in terms of older homes. Our house was built prior to 1900 and they knew the perfect ventless coal basket to put into the current old gas logs. Prompt service and easy to communicate with!

Sandra Smith 2/01/2021
Jennifer Swan Avatar

Gary was kind, knowledgable and patient with us as we asked many questions! He did a thorough job inspecting our chimney and laid out all our options for us. We will definitely use them again, and will recommend them without hesitation.

Jennifer Swan 2/01/2021
Dana Cochran-Wiley Avatar

Timely, friendly, knowledgeable and well priced!

Dana Cochran-Wiley 2/01/2021
Matt K Avatar

The before and after photos speak for themselves. The new stacks look great. We have since used our fireplace several times and everything appears to be working as it should. Gary initially quoted using photos we provided and then came out to quote himself. He was friendly, straightforward and the price offered for repairs was very competitive. Jenny at the office patiently answered emails and returned voicemails. Their good communication skills set them apart from most of the other chimney/masonry companies we considered. The wait from quoting to repairs was significant, but ultimately they were able to complete the repairs a few weeks ahead of schedule and the timeline worked for us. The guys that came out to complete the repairs did a good job cleaning up and my wife and I could tell they took pride in their work. I appreciate a family run business that cares about good service along with craftsmanship. We are looking forward to many years of use out of our fireplaces and we will be returning customers for our future chimney service needs.

Matt K 2/01/2021
Geovani Bonilla Avatar

Technician was early for the appointment, professional, did a great job with footwear covering and professional. Explained and showed me the work he was doing and made his recommendations. Overall, great experience.

Geovani Bonilla 1/01/2021
Ross Grinvalds Avatar

I had a great experience with Smalling Masonry. I called and scheduled an inspection and cleaning of an original chimney built in 1929. The team was very professional and got things done quickly and cleanly. Thanks!

Ross Grinvalds 1/01/2021
Alexa Deathe Avatar

Smalling Masonry did a great, quick and clean job for us! We would definitely have them back again!

Alexa Deathe 1/01/2021
Andrew Deathe Avatar

My wife and I purchased a home that had a defective wood burning fireplace. Gary discussed options for us and we ultimately decided to replace it with a gas log fireplace. We had a fantastic experience from the initial quote to repair day. They had an entire team out on repair day and worked very efficiently. Everyone was kind, professional, and took pride in their work. I would recommend Smalling Masonry to anyone in need of masonry work!

Andrew Deathe 1/01/2021
Mary Kuypers Avatar

Gary and his team were very professional and worked around the clock for nearly a week to complete the project in time. We were very happy with the final product and would recommend them for other similar projects. We included an image to show how great the stone looks and the masonry work is also top notch. They did not place the fireplace, but were willing to work with us to make sure that there was a seamless transition from the fireplace contractors to the masonry contracting.

Mary Kuypers 1/01/2021
Ramona Christen Adams Avatar

From the initial contact, I received caring and prompt customer service. Sadly, this basic premise is missing from so many contractors these days so when I find it, I like to spread the good word! Jenny in the office was friendly and efficient and Gary, who did the inspection, was knowledgeable and professional. Appreciated both of them very much and would highly recommend Smalling Masonry!

Ramona Christen Adams 1/01/2021
Michael Cannon Avatar

Paver overlay and gas fire pit install, McCordsville, IN. Before and after.This is my 2nd project that I hired Gary Smalling Masonry. Fair, honest, and personable. Worked within my schedule, on time, and crew were professional and skilled. Would highly recommend

Michael Cannon 1/01/2021
Pulchra Interitum Avatar

Tech was able to arrive 30 minutes early to appointment…had our gas fireplace up and running in 15 minutes….suggested but didn’t try and sell us something we didn’t need. Will ABSOLUTELY be calling again if ever needed, as well as other projects in the future.

Pulchra Interitum 1/01/2021
Christy Van Dyke Avatar

Very friendly, professional…and so helpful!

Christy Van Dyke 12/01/2020
Sallie Jones Avatar

Wonderful job. Very thorough and clean.

Sallie Jones 8/01/2020
Cinder Van Avatar

The work is excellent.

Cinder Van 7/01/2020
Sherri Engle-Bennett Avatar

Smalling Masonry did a great job repairing my chimney. The work was excellent, they were prompt and very clean. The work included brick repair/replacement, chimney cap addition, and repair to the chimney lining. I would highly recommend them!

Sherri Engle-Bennett 6/01/2020
Kristi Simonett Avatar

We were very happy with Smalling Masonry!! We called Gary Smalling because we experienced some water in our fireplace. He said he was in the area and came to assess the chimney within 30 minutes! Amazing!! With other providers, especially in the beginning of the Quarantine, we wouldn’t have seen anyone for days! Gary was very thorough…he went up to the roof, in to the crawl space and then the attic to inspect all areas and because there was a lot of rain predicted, he ensured that we got a new chimney cap within one week!! I will recommend him to everyone!!!

Kristi Simonett 6/01/2020
M. A. Pinnick Avatar

Excellent explanations of what could be done to make the fireplace safe and usable. Took the time to thoroughly answer every question.

M. A. Pinnick 6/01/2020
Kelley Lefever Avatar

Gary and his team were fantastic. Not only did he help us come up with the best solution to our complicated project, he completed it on time and his team was professional and friendly. They cleaned up after themselves and went of the way to make sure everything was done correctly. We couldn’t be happier!

Kelley Lefever 6/01/2020
London Kramer Avatar

Gary and his crew put an amazing 20 ft stone fireplace in my home. Could not have asked for a more professional group of people. They were on time everyday, they cleaned up everyday, they helped me move furniture before and after the project, they were so friendly, and they included me in every decision and detail. I’m 100% satisfied. I’m actually going to miss them!! Thanks so much!!

London Kramer 6/01/2020
Annie Crider Avatar

Smalling Masonry had been recommended by 2 companies in Indianapolis whom specialize in fireplaces. Am I glad I called Gary. Professional, on time and any questions I had were answered immediately. I am very happy with the end results of my fireplace being bricked! Can’t stop staring at it!

Annie Crider 6/01/2020
Leo Turchyn Avatar

Smalling installed a direct vent fireplace and did a wonderful job. Gary managed all the details. They took down our old chimney, had the new box built, and had the siding and roof finished up so it all looks like it’s been there from the start. Like I said, Gary was in charge and he kept all the work going so things were done right. I highly recommend Smalling Masonry.

Leo Turchyn 6/01/2020
Christian Celis Schmidt Avatar

Gary did a great job. He is very precise. His work is excellent. I highly recommend Smalling Masonry!

Christian Celis Schmidt 6/01/2020
D Demaree Avatar

Gary Smalling and his team were knowledgeable, professional, and courteous. They were able to quickly assess our situation and help us make a plan to meet our needs. I would recommend them to family, friends, and everyone.

D Demaree 6/01/2020
Joe Heidt Avatar

The owner, Gary Smalling, stands behind his company’s work (even if the unexpected happens).

Joe Heidt 6/01/2020
Terry Sprow Avatar

Gary Smalling is a professional. He and his team installed a ventless gas fireplace in our home. The only thing they didn’t do was the natural gas plumbing and pick out the stone. Gary was available to return my calls and answer my questions (and there were many) and the finished product is absolutely beautiful!Thank You Gary & team!! They also do yearly maintenance for our new gas logs!!I highly recommend Smalling Masonry!

Terry Sprow 6/01/2020
Caleb Larsen Avatar

Great communication. Worked with me to meet historical society regulations and complete needed chimney repairs.

Caleb Larsen 6/01/2020
Angie Volk Avatar

Gary and his crew are very knowledgeable and take pride in their work. During renovation, they installed a chimney liner, cap and a new wood burning insert which included trimming the interior limestone masonry to fit the new insert. They took great care to listen to my needs and were very patient as I was extremely nervous about modifying the interior limestone. They returned a year later to clean it after our reno was complete and took great care with our new hardwood floors. I highly recommend Smalling Masonry!

Angie Volk 6/01/2020